MCC on Root's wicket by Akash Deep: Back-foot No ball rule explained' #MCC #AkashDeep #TestCricket #INDvsENG | @NishantShashwat https://t.co/OADf7mCXJK
The MCC clarified whether Akash Deep’s delivery which dismissed Joe Root was legal or not. #CricketTiwtter #JoeRoot https://t.co/JkGN2DdLpX
The MCC clarified whether Akash Deep’s delivery which dismissed Joe Root was legal or not. #AkashDeep #EdgbastonTest #EngVsInd #IndiaTourOfEngland2025 #JoeRoot #CricketTwitter https://t.co/JkGN2DddAp
The Marylebone Cricket Club, custodian of cricket’s laws, has confirmed that Indian fast-bowler Akash Deep’s delivery that bowled England’s Joe Root in the second Test at Edgbaston complied with Law 21.5.1 governing back-foot no-balls. The statement ends days of debate after television replays suggested the bowler’s back foot slid outside the return crease. MCC said the decisive factor is the foot’s position at the moment of first contact with the ground. Because Deep’s back foot initially landed inside the return crease, the ball was legal even though part of the foot later crossed the line. On-field umpires Chris Gaffaney and Sharfuddoula Saikat, as well as third umpire Paul Reiffel, therefore applied the law correctly in allowing the wicket to stand. Root’s dismissal left England 50 for 3 in pursuit of 608 and proved pivotal as the hosts were eventually bowled out for 271, giving India a 336-run victory that levelled the five-match series at 1-1. MCC’s clarification is expected to guide officials and players in future assessments of similar wide-crease deliveries.